Vienna Piano Trio


David McCarroll violin
Matthias Gredler cello
Stefan Mendl piano
Matthew Hunt clarinet

Haydn Piano Trio in B flat, Hob.XV/20
Schumann Fantasy pieces for piano trio, Op 88
Messiaen Quatuor pour la fin du temps (1940/41) for clarinet and piano trio

For the Vienna Piano Trio’s final concert of the season they are joined by clarinettist Matthew Hunt to perform one of the most moving chamber music works of the twentieth century. Messiaen’s quartet was composed while he was a German prisoner-of-war in Silesia in 1940-42 and performed by him and three fellow prisoners in the Stalag VIII A on 15th January, 1941. Schumann’s works were his first for piano trio and composed along with his three string quartets in his ‘chamber music year’ of 1842 whilst the programme opens with Haydn’s virtuosic work.

Supported by
fots-logo-web cavatina-web

Become a Friend