Christian Blackshaw And Soloists Of The Berliner Philharmoniker


Christian Blackshaw piano

Soloists of the Berliner Philharmoniker
Noah Bendix-Balgley violin
Máté Szücs viola
Bruno Delepelaire cello
Matthew McDonald double bass

Mozart Piano Quartet No 1 in G minor, K478
Mozart Piano Quartet No 2 in E flat, K493
Schubert Piano Quintet in A, D667 Trout

An auspicious opening to the 2018/19 Piano series+ as we welcome a new collaboration between principal players of the one of the world’s great orchestras, the Berlin Philharmonic, and Christian Blackshaw, a pianist renowned for his performances of Schubert and Mozart.

Schubert’s ever popular Trout quintet is paired with the only two piano quartets which Mozart wrote. Commissioned as a set of three – though only two were completed – the works were the first written for the medium and demonstrate Mozart’s inventive powers at their height.