Online Event: Joanna Macgregor | Beethoven Day: Concert 1


Join distinguished British pianist Joanna MacGregor as she takes us on a journey through the music of Beethoven in his 250th anniversary year. Across three livestreamed recitals direct from Turner Sims, Joanna presents a personal selection of nine of the composer’s defining set of 32 piano sonatas. From the bold early Sonata No 3 dedicated to his teacher Haydn, to the ever-popular Moonlight, and concluding with the monumental and technically challenging final sonata, which Beethoven described as ‘not very difficult’, the day spans three decades of the composer’s life and through music of great power, intimacy, and vision.

Sonata No 3 in C, Op 2 No 3 (1795)
Sonata No 8 in C minor, Op 13 Pathétique (1798)
Sonata No 12 in A flat, Op 26 Funeral March (1801)

Download the concert programme

Beethoven Day begins with a sonata composed at the age of 25, the last of the three Op 2 sonatas which form Beethoven’s first set of works for piano. Comprising four expansive movements (in contrast to the three which were typical of his predecessors Haydn and Mozart), the brilliance of its writing reflects the fact that Beethoven was a virtuoso on the instrument. His bold new approach to writing for the solo instrument continues with the Grand Sonata Pathetique, of which Beethoven’s publisher said ‘nothing so powerful and full of tragic passion has hitherto been dreamt of in pianoforte music’. Both this work and the Funeral March sonata which ends the programme were dedicated to Prince Karl Lichnowsky, Beethoven’s principal patron with whom he had been living since arriving in Vienna in 1792.

BEETHOVEN DAY TICKET OFFER: Buy for all three concerts and save £1 on each ticket! 

Book for Livestream 2, 5pm

Book for Livestream 3, 8pm

Running time: 1 hour (approx)

You can buy a ticket to enjoy this concert online until midnight, Sunday 20 December

This concert will be available for ticket holders to view until Monday 21 December, 9am

UCAN UK is a dynamic and growing network of over 30 University arts centres and arts programmes from across the UK. Bridging the Higher Education and arts and cultural sectors; UCAN’s member organisations connect cultural communities, creative industries, academics, students and the wider public to deliver imaginative, innovative and inspirational experiences.

UCAN UK Streaming is a new partnership venture that seeks to broaden public engagement by delivering our high quality artistic programmes through shared digital channels.