Uos Music Presents | Jono Mccleery


Presented by University of Southampton Music Department

We are excited to welcome eclectic singer-songwriter Jono McCleery for a special gig as part of the Music Department’s lunchtime concert series.

Jono McCleery vocals, guitar
Dan See drums
Dan Gulino bass
Steve Pringle keys

Once described as “Miles Davis, Massive Attack, John Martyn, Fink, and Radiohead rolled into one”, Jono will perform originals from his wide range of albums and projects alongside a phenomenal backing band of musicians: Dan See (Lianna La Havas, Nick Mulvey, Jamie Woon, Tom Jones), Dan Gulino (Jessie Ware, Jamie Woon) and Steve Pringle (Michael Kiwanuka).

Jono McCleery released a string of albums via Ninja Tune Records and collaborated with fellow artists across the musical spectrum including Maribou state, Portico, and Maceo Plex. Over the years his music has received support from Gilles Peterson, Jamie Cullum, Phil Selway (of Radiohead), Lauren Laverne, Mary Anne Hobbs with ongoing support from FIP radio, KCRW, and many more whilst touring internationally with Bonobo, Jamie Woon, and Gil Scott Heron. With the shake-up of the pandemic, the British-born / Rotterdam-based artist has remained determined to stay active, signing to Warner Chappell publishing and delivering an EP of stripped back acoustic songs (To Keep a Memory) plus 2 further albums Here I Am and There You Are and Moonlit Parade with Berlin-based label 90 Days. His music has been used in a number of television shows such as Queen Sugar, Press, Start Up, This Is Us, Bitten, Continuum, and The Divide. Jono sees his music as something which is constantly evolving, draws inspiration from a wide range of influences, and seeks to connect.

Entrance is FREE. All audience members must book a ticket.

Photo credit: JKey Photography