Britten Sinfonia Ensemble


Turner Sims Associate Artists

Emer McDonough flute
Clare Finnimore viola
Lucy Wakeford harp

In a change to the programme originally advertised the Britten Sinfonia Ensemble will perform Bax’s Elegiac Trio in place of Donatoni’s Small II. The revised programme is as follows:

Debussy   Syrinx
Daniel Bjarnason   new work (world premiere tour)
Donatoni   Marches
Jolivet   Petite Suite
Takemitsu   And Then I Knew ‘Twas Wind
Bax   Elegiac Trio
Debussy   Trio for flute, harp and viola

An evening of fine chamber music from Turner Sims’ Associate Artists. Flute, viola and harp may not be the most familiar trio combination, but it certainly lends itself to the rich exploration of colour and harmonies typical of Debussy’s output. A deeply expressive curiosity in soundscapes and association with visual art is also infused in the music of Icelandic composer Daníel Bjarnason, whose new work features alongside Debussy and others in this programme.

Principal viola Clare Finnimore talks about her experiences as part of Britten Sinfonia.

Player Profile: Clare Finnimore from Britten Sinfonia on Vimeo.