Isata Kanneh-mason


Intermezzo in B flat, Op 117 No 2
Intermezzo in A, Op 118 No 2
Ballade in G minor, Op 118 No 3
Intermezzo in F minor, Op 118 No 4
Romance in F, Op 118 No 5

Clara Schumann
Ballade, Op 6 No 4
Notturno, Op 6 No 2
Scherzo No 2 in C minor, Op 14
3 Romances for solo piano, Op 11
Piano Sonata in G minor

Following her appearance as soloist with orchestra Chineke! at Turner Sims in 2017, rising star pianist Isata Kanneh-Mason returns for her first solo recital with a focus on Clara Schumann in her 200th anniversary year. A child prodigy who composed prolifically from an early age, Clara Schumann was one of the foremost pianists of her time, premiering new works by her husband Robert Schumann and their friends Brahms and Chopin. Isata’s programme includes rarely heard works alongside the Sonata which was unpublished in her lifetime, but rediscovered in 1991. The complementary works by Brahms include a selection from his Op 118 set dedicated to her.

You may also like: Joanna MacGregor, Thursday 16 January