Paul Lewis | Schubert Iii


Schubert Piano sonata No 4 in A minor, D537
Schubert Piano sonata No 9 in B, D575
Schubert Piano sonata No 18 in G, D894

Download the concert programme

Paul Lewis is internationally regarded as one of the leading musicians of his generation. His cycles of core piano works by Beethoven and Schubert have received unanimous critical and public acclaim worldwide. Tonight, he continues his survey of Schubert’s piano sonatas.

Both D537 and D575 are entirely characteristic works, dating from 1817. Written in October 1826, D894 was the last work in the form to appear during the composer’s lifetime: Robert Schumann called it ‘the most perfect in form and conception’ of all Schubert’s sonatas.

The final recital in the Schubert Series will take place on Tuesday 19 March 2024