Peter Edwards | A Journey With The Giants Of Jazz


Nu Civilisation Orchestra
Peter Edwards director
with young people from Southampton schools

Nathaniel Facey, Nubya Garcia, Rhiannon Jeffreys saxophones 
Byron Wallen, Rebecca Toft trumpets
Rosie Turton, Ellie Smith trombones
Sarah Tandy piano
Gary Crosby bass
Eddie Hicks drums
Noda Oreste percussion
Cherise Coryna vocals

Programme includes:
A Journey with the Giants of Jazz (world premiere)

1917 was a defining year for jazz, which saw the birth of some of its most influential artists: Thelonious Monk, Dizzy Gillespie, Ella Fitzgerald, Tadd Dameron, Buddy Rich and Mongo Santamaria. Peter Edwards conducts the Nu Civilisation Orchestra for the premiere of his latest commission, A Journey with the Giants of Jazz which takes as its starting point motifs from six works associated with these jazz icons. The commission will be preceded by performances of the six works by young people from Southampton schools.

Presented in partnership with Tomorrow’s Warriors and Southampton Music Hub

Generously supported by PRS Foundation’s New Music Biennial www.newmusicbiennial.co.uk


Become a Friend