Sacconi Quartet


Ben Hancox violin
Hannah Dawson violin
Robin Ashwell viola
Cara Berridge cello

Jonathan Dove   Quartet Out of Time
Mozart   Quartet No 20 in D, K499 Hoffmeister
Mendelssohn   Quartet No 6 in F minor, Op 80

Mendelssohn’s last major work was completed just two months before he died, and composed as an homage to his sister Fanny, bearing the title Requiem for Fanny.  In contrast Jonathan Dove describes his 2001 work as ‘a serenade for someone I never met’ the commissioner asking him to commemorate her husband in a string quartet.  Mozart’s work was described by its publisher in an advertisement as written ‘with that fire of the imagination and that correctness which long since won for Herr Mozart the reputation of one of the best composers in Germany’.

7pm Pre-Concert Talk: Jonathan Dove in conversation