Ben Oliver director
Hartley Loop Orchestra 
Joley Cragg solo percussion

Lois V. Vierk Red Shift (1989)
Brona Martin New Work (2018-2019)
Benjamin Oliver Changing Up+ (2016-2018)
Drew Crawford New Work (2018-2019)
Steve Reich Music for a Large Ensemble (1979)

The minimalist movement was one of the key shifts in contemporary music of the last fifty years, with the focus on repetition, limitation and employing clear processes exerting influence on a wide range of artists and musical genres. In this concert, leading visiting musicians will play alongside students and staff in performances of Steve Reich’s superb Music for a Large Ensemble (1979), Lois V. Vierk’s post-minimal masterpiece Red Shift (1989) and three new works by Southampton faculty composers Drew Crawford, Brona Martin and Benjamin Oliver. Each work will subvert and shift expectations in compelling ways.

Presented by the University of Southampton Music Department in association with Turner Sims