Monday 8 February – Friday 1 April

Italian author, photographer and journalist Luca Vitali has been following Norwegian music as part of an intense personal journey into what he calls ‘the Sound of the North’. Turner Sims is delighted to be presenting an exclusive collection of images from Luca’s book, Il Suono del Nord, which documents the historical roots and contemporary flowering of new jazz in Norway. The portraits feature many artists who have performed on the TS stage over the years.

The exhibition covers ten years of intense participation in festivals in Italy, Norway and around the world. It represents the author’s passionate visual commentary through the eyes of a reporter, rather than an art photographer, in order to document inspired, thoroughly creative moments.

BBC Radio 3 presenter Fiona Talkington, who has edited the English edition of the book, writes: The author has gone to Norway not to intrude or take away its musical treasures, but to uncover and reveal the riches which are enduring, and the creative spirit of a seemingly quiet and reserved nation which has so much to say and so much to give.

This is a visual story that portrays some of the most representative artists of the Norwegian music scene, often taken live and in breathtaking landscape.

Luca Vitali (Bologna, 1967) writes about jazz and beyond in AllAboutJazzItalia, Il Giornale della Musica and InSound, and is a contributor to Il Sole 24 Ore’s monthly magazine IL and to Radio Città del Capo. is one of the founding members of Europe Jazz Media – a community of jazz journalists, media professionals and broadcasters. He has organised various contemporary music and performing arts events, and since 2010 has worked as one of the artistic curators of Bologna’s Angelica Festival. He has collaborated with various Norwegian institutions in Italy (Royal Norwegian Embassy, Royal Norwegian Consulate in Bologna), as well as with Jazzforum, Music Norway, Listen to Norway and Jazznytt. He has published articles and photographs for international music magazines (Jazzthetik, Jazznytt, etc.) as well as liner photos for ECM and other prestigious labels.

The bookThe Sound of the North – Norway and the European Jazz Scene is an English translation of Luca Vitali’s 2014 book ‘Il Suono del Nord’, charting the history of Norwegian jazz and its rise to international recognition as a cultural force within Europe and globally. ‘The Sound of the North’ presents Luca Vitali’s journey of discovery told through his own experiences and meetings with musicians, writers, journalists, promoters and record labels. It is a view of the Norwegian jazz scene from abroad.

Publisher: Auditorium/ Mimesis International



Norwegian Embassy

Exhibition supported by the Royal Norwegian Embassy

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.