Paul Lewis


Schubert Piano Sonata No 7 in E flat, D568
Schubert Piano Sonata No 14 in A minor, D784
Schubert Piano Sonata No 17 in D, D850

Download the concert programme

‘Lewis is one of the great Schubertians of our time.’ Gramophone

20 years on from his first survey of Schubert at Turner Sims, Paul Lewis begins a four concert series exploring the composer’s piano sonatas.

Paul Lewis’ studies of piano works by Beethoven and Schubert have received worldwide critical and public praise.

Tonight opens with the E flat sonata left in unfinished form in D flat in 1817, then transposed, revised and completed by the composer around 1826. The A minor work dates from 1823, while the D major piece, sometimes called the ‘Gasteiner’ Sonata, was composed in the Austrian spa town of Bad Gastein in 1825. It would be the only one of the three works this evening to be published in Schubert’s lifetime.

Future recitals in the Schubert series will take place on:
Thursday 4 May 2023
Thursday 7 December 2023
Tuesday 19 March 2024

On sale dates to be announced