VÄsterÅs Sinfonietta


Simon Crawford-Phillips conductor
Lawrence Power violin
Paul Watkins cello

Mendelssohn The Hebrides, Op 26 (overture)
Angela Tarrodi Zephyros
Ligeti Concert Românesc
Dvořák Silent Woods
Brahms Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op 102

A programme of wind, waves and forest murmurs from Sweden’s dynamic 35 piece orchestra Västerås Sinfonietta opens with Mendelssohn’s vivid evocation of the surging seas around the Isle of Mull. The God of the west wind in Greek mythology was the spark for Andrea Tarrodi’s tone poem Zephyros, while Dvořák’s spell-binding Silent Woods grew from his duet series From the Bohemian Forest. Brahms, who retired to the mountains and lakes to compose each summer, is represented by his Double Concerto, with two eminent soloists, including Turner Sims Associate Artist Lawrence Power, as guests.

7pm Pre-concert talk

Join the Friends of Turner Sims for ticket discounts and other benefits!